Skip to Content

Nominate a Local Leader for the 2019 Hubsmith Safe Routes Champion Award

In 2019, the Hubsmith Safe Routes Champion Award will be presented to an individual who has made extraordinary efforts and contributions to advancing equity and inclusion through Safe Routes to School and active transportation. The award will recognize outstanding leadership and vision, impact on advancing Safe Routes to School, and skills in building coalitions and political will to ensure safe, healthy, and equitable outcomes for children and community members.


Nominees should exemplify one or more of the following criteria:

  • Ensures that Safe Routes to School programs are inclusive of students of all races, ethnicities, abilities, genders, sexual orientations, and income levels
  • Builds coalitions with community partners working in areas such as social and environmental justice, disability rights, and health equity
  • Demonstrates a high level of commitment to bringing in a diversity of experience, ideas, and viewpoints from the community to strengthen programs and initiatives
  • Values equity, diversity, and inclusion above and beyond job responsibilities

Nominees may be from local, regional, state or national levels, and may represent any sector that works in Safe Routes to School – education, transportation, health, advocacy, equity, community or business.  Nominees can be employed in the Safe Routes to School world or can be volunteers or leaders in related fields—parent champions, Safe Routes to School coordinators, principals, health professionals, bicycle or pedestrian advocates, and more are all welcome and encouraged.

The winner of the Hubsmith Safe Routes Champion Award will be announced at the 2019 Safe Routes to School Conference, November 12-14, 2019 in Tampa, Fla. The award winner will receive a 3-day conference registration, travel, and hotel accommodations, and will be presented their award during the conference. Nominations will be accepted through April 30 and our selected candidate will be notified by June 3.

Submit nominations here.